Virat Kohli wins Cricketer of the Year


Prime VIP
Staff member

Tyre major CEAT Limited celebrated the success and glory of International cricket with CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) International awards 2014 at a glittering ceremony today. The awards honored the best of the International cricketers based on their performances as rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2013 2014.

CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) is the first cricket rating to officially recognize and reward cricketers for their performances in the international cricket arena. This year CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) awards touched a new high with awards in 8 different categories.

Mr. Harsh Goenka, Chairman, RPG Group said, The CCR International Award function is a reiteration of the close association CEAT has with cricket and our endeavour to recognize the individual brilliance on the international cricket scene. He added In India, where cricket is not just a sport, CCR awards plays a pivotal role in paying tribute to not just the cricketing brilliance but also the millions of cricketing fans as well.

Australia & India dazzled at the event by sweeping away most of the CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) awards among them. The awards honour the best of the International cricketers based on their performances in international cricketing in all formats, i.e T20, Test and ODI, as rated by the CEAT Cricket ratings (CCR) for the year 2013 2014.

India's Virat Kohli was announced as the CEAT overall International cricketer of the year while Shikhar Dhawan was conferred with the CEAT ODI Player of the year. Rewarding the younger talent, India's Vijay Zol was the CEAT young player of the Year. Bangladesh's Shakib Al Hasan was conferred with CEAT International T20 player of the year and Australia's Mitchell Johnson was announced as CEAT International Test Player of the year

In addition to the above, CEAT Indian player of the year Award was conferred to R Ashwin. Australia's Glenn Maxwell received the award for being the most popular cricketer in recent times.

This Year, CCR, also introduced the Domestic Cricketer of the Year award to recognize & felicitate the cricketing talent in the Indian domestic circuit. The winner of this award was Robin Uthappa

It was also a day to honour the stalwarts of the yesteryear who have carved a name for themselves as legends of Cricket. Cricketing legend Syed Kirmani was awarded the CCR International Lifetime Achievement Award One of India's greatest wicket-keepers, he has represented the country in 88 Tests and 49 one-day internationals and finished with a total of 234 dismissals.
Speaking on the occasion cricket legend and the chief adjudicator of the CEAT Cricket Rating Mr. Sunil Gavaskar said, "CEAT International Cricket Rating Awards is one of the most important events in Cricketing calendar as it recognizes the achievements of the players from grass-roots to the international arena and has now reached its 19th year. It is good to see an Indian winning the main award again and that he has won it the second time at such a young age should inspire other youngsters also to win the coveted award. It is also wonderful to see Syed Kirmani being recognised for his tremendous service to Indian cricket. He is without doubt one of India's all-time greats."


The CEAT Cricket Rating was the first rating system in international cricket to recognize and reward outstanding performers in cricket on an annual basis. Conceived in 1995 by CEAT, the CEAT Cricket Rating attempted to answer every cricket-lovers persistent and perennial query 'Who is the best of the best?'

The CEAT Cricket Rating stands out by virtue of its simplicity. It comprises an objective points system that awards points to cricketers for their batting, bowling and on-field performances.

The cricketer that accumulates the highest number of points in their respective categories at the end of the period are declared the CEAT Cricket Rating International Cricketer..

The past winners of the CEAT Cricket Rating have been:
Brian Lara (1995-96), Venkatesh Prasad (1996-97), Sanath Jayasuriya (1997-98), Jacques Kallis (1998-99), Sourav Ganguly (1999-2000), Muttiah Muralitharan (2000-01, 2001-02), Ricky Ponting (2002-03), Brian Lara (2003-04), Jacques Kallis (2003-04), Ricky Ponting (2005-06), Muttiah Muralitharan (2006-07), Mahela Jayawardene (2007-08), Gautam Gambhir (2008-09), Shane Watson (2009-10), Jonathan Trott(2010-11), Virat Kohli(2011-12).


CEAT International Cricketer of the Year Virat Kohli (India)
CEAT International ODI Player of the Year Shikhar Dhawan (India)
CEAT International T20 Player of the Year Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)
CEAT International Test Player of the Year Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
CEAT International Domestic Cricketer of the Year Robin Uthappa (India)
CEAT International Popular Choice Award Glenn Maxwell (Australia)
CEAT International Special Award for Indian Player of the year Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
CEAT International Young Player of the Year Vijay Zol (India).