Current Affair Updates: 25th December 2013


Prime VIP
Staff member
National Affairs
Election Commission of India has inked a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Yemen when V.S. Sampath India’s Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) visited to Yemen. Yemen has sought India’s expertise in electoral roll preparations, cooperation and election management. At the invitation of President of the Supreme Commission for Elections and Referendum (SCER) of Yemen Judge Mohammed Hussain Al-Hakim, Sampath is presently on a visit to the country.
An electricity import deal with India will be inked by Pakistan for import of electricity from India to prevail over a crippling power crisis.
In the beginning, about 500MW of electricity will be supplied by India and this plan could be implemented within a year by laying a transmission line. Pakistan can import 2,000-2,500MW of power from India to deal with the severe shortage. Also, the international court has allowed India to divert water from the Neelum Jhelum River for the Kishanganga Dam in Indian-controlled Kashmir.
AGNI-III the nuclear capable ballistic missile has been successfully test fired by Indian Army. AGNI-III, the surface-to-surface missile with the full range of 3000 km has been test fired from the Wheeler Island of Odisha Coast. Strategic Forces Command (SFC) of the Indian Army with the logistic support from the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) conducted the test fire of Agni-III missile that is powered by a two-stage solid propellant system.
To spread e-literacy, Indian government has launched e-inclusion project to spread e-literacy to make people e-literate. The project is an initiative to make at least one individual in every household e-literate. Also through this project, IT training will be imparted to economically weaker sections of the society including rural women, ST and SC. In beginning, about 45,000 people will get training under this programme.

Awards & Honours
Sword of Honour award considered to be Oscar of the Safety World has been bagged by Rajiv Gandhi International Airport of Hyderabad. With this award, the airport became the first airport in India to receive this award. The airport is operated by GMR Hyderabad International Airport Ltd (GHIAL) which received award in recognition of safety management systems from the British Safety Council for health and safety works and also for its effective implementation of occupational health at the airport. In the British Safety Council’s audit Programme, the Organization has achieved 5-star certification.

A senior IAS officer, Rajendra Kumar has been tipped to become the Principal Secreatry to Kejriwal, who may be sworn-in as Chief Minister of Delhi soon. Currently, 47-year-old Kumar is a Higher Education Secretary and an alumnus of IIT-Kharagpur. In the meantime, newly elected AAP MLAs Somnath Bharti from Malviya Nagar, Rakhi Birla from Mangolpuri constituency and Manish Sisodia from Patparganj are tipped to become Ministers.
The former Home Secretary Vinod Kumar Duggal has been appointed as the new Governor of Manipur. He will succeed Ashwani Kumar, the current governor of Manipur and he was an additional charge of Manipur till Duggal appointment, while also being a Governor of Nagaland. From July 2013, Manipur Governor post was vacant when Gurbachan Singh Jagat, the former Police Chief of Jammu and Kashmir, tenure of five years had ended. Duggal will soon take the charge.

Russia’s Mikhail Kalashnikov who is known as the designer of fabled AK-47 automatic rifle has died in the Udmurtia region where he used to work. He passed away at the age of 94. AK-47, the designed weapon by Kalashnikov became synonymous with killing but later AK-47 was seen in the Soviet Union as a national hero and symbol of Moscow’s proud military past. “Kalashnikov’s Automatic” name goes for AK-47 with the year it was designed, 1947. AK-47 is used in armies and guerrilla groups around the world.

The men’s singles crown of the Senior National Badminton Championship was clinched by Srikanth by defeating M V Guru Sai Dutt with 21-13, 22-20 in the finals. PV Sindhu crushed the Junior National Champion Rituparna Das 21-17, 21-11 in the Women’s singles. The second seeded Pranav Chopra and Akshay Devalkar grabbed the men’s doubles by defeating the top seeds Munnu Atri and Sumit Reddy 21-19, 21-17 to secure the title. Since 2009 Jwala Gutta and Ashwani Punnappa crushed top seeds Pradnya Gadre and Siki Reddy N 21-17 21-16 to secure the women’s doubles title for the first time. Aparna Balan and Arun Vishnu, defending mixed doubles champions retained the title by conquering Tarun Kona and Ashwini Ponnappa 21-10 21-17.

Similar threads