Tharanga and Fernando in ODI squad

Opener Upal Tharanga and fast bowlers Dilhara Fernando and Lasith Malinga have been included in Sri Lanka's 15-man squad for the one-day series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates. In all, Sri Lanka have made seven changes from the Test squad that currently trails Pakistan 0-1 in the three-Test series, with openers Tharanga Paranavitana and Lahiru Thirimane, and left-arm spinner Rangana Herath among those missing out.

Dimuth Karunaratne, who played two one-dayers on the tour of England in July, returns, but there was no place for spinner Ajantha Mendis, who last played in the ODI series against Australia. Mendis picked up a back injury during the subsequent Tests and was not picked for the Test series against Pakistan. In his absence, the frontline spinners are offspinner Suraj Randiv and the two legspinners, Jeevan Mendis and Seekkugge Prasanna.

Tharanga was Sri Lanka's second-highest scorer against Australia, but struggled apart from making 111 in the third ODI, his next best score in the series being 34.

Malinga returns to provide the bowling attack with the cutting edge it appears to lack in Tests following Muttiah Muralitharan's retirement. He will be joined in the seam department by Fernando, who has not played since breaking down on Sri Lanka's tour of England, Dhammika Prasad, who did not feature in the ODIs against Australia, and Suranga Lakmal.

Kosala Kulasekara, a big-hitting batting allrounder who replaced the injured Shaminda Eranga in the Test squad, has also kept his place. But Chamara Silva and Nuwan Kulasekara, both of whom were part of the Australia series, have not been included.

Since losing the World Cup final to India in April, Sri Lanka have lost series away to England and at home to Australia. They will play five ODIs against Pakistan, with the first one to be played on November 11 in Dubai.

ODI Squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Jeevan Mendis, Kosala Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dilhara Fernando, Suraj Randiv