Desperate Housewives move

nvkhkhr

Prime VIP

After seven seasons of tangled mysteries, messy marriages, nervous breakdowns and salacious secrets, ABC executives and the producers of Desperate Housewives have announced the eighth and upcoming season will be the show's last.
"The only thing harder than creating a hit television show is knowing when to end it," executive producer Marc Cherry said on Sunday at the Television Critics Association press tour in Beverly Hills. "Because I have been working in television for 23 years, I am very aware of people overstaying their welcome."
Cherry was an out-of-work former writer for The Golden Girls living in a cramped Los Angeles condo in 2004 when ABC plucked from the pile his script about the scheming women of Wisteria Lane and shepherded it onto the small screen.
The series exploded into a blockbuster hit that transformed not only the fortunes of Cherry and the then-down-on-its-luck ABC network but also actresses older than 40. Desperate Housewives, starring Teri Hatcher, Felicity Huffman, Marcia Cross and Eva Longoria, demonstrated that middle-aged women could be sexy.
Article continues below

The show — a dark comedy and soapy drama rolled into one — reinvigorated the genre of prime-time soap operas, which had been dormant for more than a decade. It reminded TV programmers that hour-long dramas, not just 22-minute sitcoms, could be effective vehicles for comedy.
Not only that, but Desperate Housewives improved the financial health of the entire television industry. The programme, along with ABC's other 2004 breakout hit, Lost, turbocharged international demand for US-produced network dramas.
Ever since, higher licence fees from foreign sales of network shows have helped to subsidise the high cost of production of scripted programming.