Will Gambhir return to the opening slot


Prime VIP
Staff member
The line-up that takes strike against Leicestershire will also provide a look at where Gambhir fits into the scheme of things.

The left-hander returns to the national side after spending nearly one and half years in the domestic wilderness, even as Shikhar Dhawan and Murali Vijay continue to be the first-choice opening combination in the longer format of the game.

It should be noted that Binny also doubles up as the only back-up batsman available to the side, and going ahead, one of the three openers might have to adjust lower down the order should the need arise.

But it remains to be seen whether Dhoni pre-empts that situation and gives an outing to all three batsmen in the practice games.

Leicestershire, who are led by former West Indies batsmen Ramnaresh Sarwan, have struggled in this year's County Championship and are placed last in the Division Two standings. But they would be hoping that their their top players including the likes of Sarwan, Niall O'Brien and Scott Stryis can come up with good performances against the touring Indians.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Gautam Gambhir, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Ishwar Pandey, Wriddhiman Saha, Pankaj Singh, Varun Aaron, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Leicestershire: Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain), Matthew Boyce, Nathan Buck, Josh Cobb, Ned Eckersley, Ollie Freckingham, Anthony Ireland, Jigar Naik, Niall O'Brien (w/k), Angus Robson, Charlie Shreck, Greg Smith, Scott Styris, James Sykes, Rob Taylor, Shiv Thakor, Michael Thornely, Tom Wells, Robbie Williams, Alex Wyatt.
Last edited: