Punjab News PAU okays 2 high-yielding varieties of wheat, cotton


Staff member
Ludhiana July 7:

The Punjab Agricultural University (PAU) has developed two new high yielding varieties of wheat and cotton for cultivation in the state. The varieties — PBW 621 of wheat and FDK 124 of desi cotton — were approved for release during a meeting of the State Variety Approval Committee (SVAC) for field crops here last evening.

Referring to PBW 621, the Director of Research, PAU, Dr SS Gosal said that it is a high-yielding dwarf variety with an average yield of 21.1 quintals per acre. The grains of PBW 621 are amber, medium bold, hard and lustrous and take about 158 days to mature.

The scientists claim that the variety produced an average yield of 58 quintal/ha during research trials conducted in the state (2006-10) and out-yielded the check varieties PBW 343, PBW 550, DBW 17 and PBW 502 by margins of 19.3, 8.4, 8.8 and 15.2 per cent, respectively. It has been developed by a team comprising Dr VS Sohu, Dr NS Bains, Dr GS Mavi, Dr Achla Sharma, Dr VP Mittal, Dr Indu Bhagat, Dr Indu Sharma, Dr Madhu Mita, Dr Hari Ram, Dr RP Singh, Dr SP Gupta, Dr Damanjit Kaur, Dr Beant Singh, Dr Onkar Singh and Dr Pooja Srivastava.

About the cotton variety FDK 124, Dr Gosal said it was an early maturing and high-yielding variety of desi cotton, taking about 160 days to mature and a yield of 9.28 quintal per acre. A coarse fibre variety with 2.5 per cent staple length of 21 mm and ginning outturn of 36.4 per cent, it is on a par with check variety vis-a-vis insect-pest and disease reaction.

The variety has been rigorously tested on the basis of 29 State All India Coordinated Cotton Improvement Project (AICCIP) trials and 21 adaptive research trials. It gave higher yield as compared to check variety, LD-694. Sufficient seed of FDK-124 is available for the farmers for multiplication, informed Dr Gosal. It has been developed by a team comprising Dr JS Gill, Dr MS Gill, Dr Pankaj Rathore, Dr Dharminder Pathak, Dr RK Gumber, Dr RS Sohu, Dr Paramjit Singh, Dr Balwinder Singh and Dr Inderpreet Dhaliwal.