Lord's to host 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup final


Prime VIP
Staff member
Lord's has been chosen to host the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup final and the 2017 Women's World Cup final, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced on Wednesday. ECB also revealed that the 2019 semi-finals will be held at Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham.

The Oval, Taunton, Chester-le-Street, Headingley, Trent Bridge, Cardiff, Bristol and the Rose Bowl are all also due to host World Cup games, with all venues subject to International Cricket Council (ICC) approval. Lord's, the north London venue regarded as the spiritual home of cricket, staged the first three World Cup finals in 1975, 1979 and 1983, and also the finale to the 1999 event. The West Indies won the first two, while India were victorious in 1983 and Australia in 1999.

"The ICC Cricket World Cup attracts television audiences which have the potential to outstrip all other major international sporting events. As chairman of the ICC's Financial and Commercial Affairs Committee, I know that we are anticipating a global television audience of more than two billion for the final," ECB chairman, Giles Clarke said.

Meanwhile, Headingley and Old Trafford, Lord's, The Oval and Edgbaston will host the five Ashes Tests in 2019, with Trent Bridge and Cardiff both missing out after being named to host matches in 2015. Cardiff misses out after being given the honour of hosting the opening Ashes Test in 2009 and 2015, while Trent Bridge won't have an Ashes contest for the first time since 2009.

Taunton has also been handed its first Twenty20 International as part of the ECB's Major Match Awards announcement, with England taking on South Africa at the home of Somerset in 2017. Headingley has been handed a Test in 2017 when the West Indies are the tourists and they will also play Tests at Edgbaston and Lord's, with One-Day Internationals at Bristol, Old Trafford, The Oval, The Rose Bowl and Trent Bridge and a T20 international at Chester-le-Street.

South Africa also visit in 2017 and they will play Tests at Lord's, The Oval, Trent Bridge and Old Trafford with ODIs at Chester-le-Street, Headingley and Lord's. Pakistan come calling in 2018 with Tests at Headingley and Lord's, while India will also play five-day matches at Edgbaston, Lord's, The Oval, The Rose Bowl and Trent Bridge.

India will also play ODIs at Bristol, Headingley, Lord's, Old Trafford and Trent Bridge, while England will play 50-over games against Australia at Cardiff, Chester-le-Street, Old Trafford, The Oval and Trent Bridge. Australia will also be the visitors for a T20 at Edgbaston while India face England in the shortest format at Cardiff.

In 2019, as well as playing Australia, England face Pakistan in five ODIs at Bristol, Chester-le-Street, Headingley, The Oval and the Rose Bowl and a T20 at Cardiff. The ICC Champions Trophy will be held in England in 2017 and Cardiff, The Oval and Edgbaston will host matches in a repeat of 2013, with The Oval staging the final. England will also face the winners of the ICC Test Challenge at Lord's in 2019 with a four-match series between the 10th-ranked Test nation and winner of the ICC Intercontinental Cup deciding their opponents.