IPL Auction 2014

Gill Saab

Yaar Malang
Mumbai Indians retain Rohit, Malinga, Pollard, Harbhajan and Rayudu
Rajasthan Royals retain Samson, Binny, Rahane, Watson, Faulkner
CSK retain Dhoni, Raina, Ashwin, Jadeja, Bravo
RCB retain Kohli, Gayle and de Villiers
Kings XI retain Manan Vohra, David Miller
KKR retain Gautam Gambhir and S Narine
Sunrisers retain S Dhawan and D Steyn
Last edited:


Prime VIP
Staff member
Mumbai Retain Five, KKR Two

Defending champions, Mumbai have retained five players -Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard and Lasith Malinga.
Rohit Sharma was the skipper when Mumbai bagged the double of IPL and Champions League in 2013.

Mumbai became the third team to go in with retaining five players. They will have one right-to-match card at the auctions.
Just like CSK, Mumbai will now be left with Rs 210 million to spend at the auction.

Meanwhile, Kolkata have decided to retain only two players. Gautam Gambhir, who was been the skipper for 3 years running and Sunil Narine. Gambhir had led KKR to IPL glory in 2012 while Narine has been amongst the leading wicket-takers in the last two years.

Some of the notable players to go out of the Mumbai stables into the auction pool include Mitchell Johnson, Dinesh Karthik, Glen Maxwell,Dwayne Smith. From Kolkata, Brendon McCullum, Jacques Kallis, Shakib al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate and Mohammed Shami will be up for grabs.

Delhi, as widely expected, retained two of their most explosive players in Kevin Pietersen and David Warner. Virender Sehwag will be a part of the auctions for the first time in IPL history.

Hyderabad and Punjab have decided to retain two players each, according to reports.Dale Steyn and Shikhar Dhawan will carry on with SRH while KXIP sprung a surprise by retaining Manan Vohra along with David Miller.​

Gill Saab

Yaar Malang
Chennai Super Kings
Players retained: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Dwayne Bravo
Auction purse remaining: Rs 210 million
Right-to-match cards available: 1 (not eligible for a capped India player)

Delhi Daredevils
Players retained: None
Auction purse remaining: Rs 600 million
Right-to-match cards available: 3

Kings XI Punjab
Players retained: David Miller, Manan Vohra
Auction purse remaining: Rs 435 million
Right-to-match cards available: 2

Kolkata Knight Riders

Players retained: Gautam Gambhir, Sunil Narine
Auction purse remaining: Rs 380 million
Right-to-match cards available: 2

Mumbai Indians
Players retained: Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, Harbhajan Singh, Ambati Rayudu
Auction purse remaining: Rs 210 million
Right-to-match cards available: 1

Rajasthan Royals
Players retained: Shane Watson, James Faulkner, Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson, Stuart Binny
Auction purse remaining: Rs 225 million
Right-to-match cards available: 1

Royal Challengers Bangalore
Players retained: Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers
Auction purse remaining: Rs 305 million
Right-to-match cards available: 1

Sunrisers Hyderabad
Players retained: Shikhar Dhawan, Dale Steyn
Auction purse remaining: Rs 380 million
Right-to-match cards available: 2