India v Sri Lanka final test


Prime VIP
India v Sri Lanka final test

India's Harbhajan Singh (C) celebrates with his teammates after taking the wicket of Sri Lanka's Tharanga Paranavitana as Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan (L) watches on the first day of their third test cricket match in Mumbai December 2, 2009.

REUTERS - Scoreboard at the close on the opening day of the third and final test between India and Sri Lanka at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai, on Wednesday.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat.

Sri Lanka first innings

T. Paranavitana c Dravid b Harbhajan 53
T. Dilshan c Vijay b Harbhajan 109
K. Sangakkara c Dhoni b Ojha 18
M. Jayawardene c Sehwag b Sreesanth 29
T. Samaraweera c Vijay b Harbhajan 1
A. Mathews not out 86
P. Jayawardene c Harbhajan b Ojha 43
N. Kulasekara c Dhoni b Zaheer 12
R. Herath c Dravid b Harbhajan 1
M. Muralitharan not out 0

Extras (b-4, lb-4, w-2, nb-4) 14

Total (eight wickets; 89 overs) 366

Fall of wickets: 1-93 2-128 3-187 4-188 5-262 6-329 7-359

To bat: C. Welegedara

Bowling (to date): Zaheer 19-2-70-1 (4nb, 1w), Sreesanth
14-1-66-1 (1w), Harbhajan 29-2-107-4, Ojha 23-1-97-2, Yuvraj

India team: M. Vijay, V. Sehwag, R. Dravid, S. Tendulkar, V.
Laxman, Y. Singh, M. Dhoni, H. Singh, P. Ojha, S. Sreesanth, Z.



Prime VIP
All-rounder Mathews was the first wicket to fall on the second day as he attempted a tight second run to complete his century, but Sachin Tendulkar caught him short with a brilliant throw from deep square leg. Mathews stroked a breezy 99 from 131 deliveries, having hit 15 boundaries, before his dismissal reduced the visitors to 379 for nine in the 93rd over.

Sehwag ton puts India on top; India 260/1 at tea


Prime VIP
Umpire's blooper sets Sri Lanka back in final Test

MUMBAI: An umpiring blunder cost Sri Lanka dearly as they battled to stave off defeat in the third and final Test against India on http://javascript%3Cb%3E%3C/b%3E:openWindowmail%28%22/mail/5304110.cms%22%29Saturday.

The tourists, trailing by 333 on the first innings, moved from their overnight score of 11/0 to 84/1 in their second knock by lunch on the fourth day at Mumbai's Brabourne stadium.

Sri Lanka lost key batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan to an umpire's mistake for the second time in the match when he was given out leg-before to Harbhajan Singh after making 16.

Australian umpire Daryl Harper raised his finger as Dilshan padded up to a ball that spun sharply from the middle-stump and hit the batsman's front leg.

Television replays showed the ball missing the leg-stump by at least six inches.

In the first innings, Dilshan's century knock was ended by English umpire Nigel Llong, who ruled the batsman caught at forward short-leg even though the ball bounced off the pad.

The umpires' referral system, which allows a batting or bowling team to appeal for a review of an on-field decision, is not being used in the series.

Tharanga Paranavitana and skipper Kumar Sangakkara overcame the setback to put on 55 for the undefeated second wicket by lunch.

Paranavitana was unbeaten on 42 and Sangakkara was on 22 with Sri Lanka still 249 runs behind with nine wickets in hand.

India lead 1-0 in the three-match series after winning the second Test in Kanpur last week by an innings and 144 runs.


Dhillon Sa'aB™
Staff member
jitt gaye :sehaj

India 726 for 9 dec (Sehwag 293, Dhoni 100*, Dravid 74, Laxman 62, Tendulkar 52) beat Sri Lanka 393 (Dilshan 109, Mathews 99, Harbhajan 4-112) and 309 (Sangakkara 137, Paranavitana 54, Zaheer 5-72) by an innings and 24 runs

Sri Lanka may have thwarted India through the fourth day, but Zaheer Khan sliced through the remaining four wickets to take India to a 2-0 series win and the No. 1 spot in the ICC rankings. Zaheer started with a ripper in the first over to get rid of Kumar Sangakkar and finished his best performance of the series with his eighth five-wicket haul. This was the third time in the last four years that India had won two matches in a row; two of those braces came against Sri Lanka.
In comparison with day four, the end came swift. Sangakkara was yet to get his eye in again when Zaheer bowled the perfect left-armer's outswinger that took the edge. After that it was all a matter of time: both Rangana Herath and Nuwan Kulasekara succumbed to sharp short deliveries from Zaheer. Muttiah Muralitharan scored a quick 14 but edged Harbhajan Singh to MS Dhoni to kick off India's celebrations.
Sidharth Monga is a staff writer at Cricinfo


Prime VIP
Dhoni takes India to No.1: The 2-0 resounding win against Sri Lanka is India's 6th series victory against the team from Island Nation.