BJP mlas to get rs 1,100-cr loan for their constituencies


Staff member
Chandigarh October 28:

Punjab BJP has finally, had its way with Chief minister Parkash Singh Badal agreeing to finance the development of BJP constituencies by availing a loan of Rs 1,100 crore from a consortium of banks, a meeting for which was held here.

Punjab BJP legislative party leader and Local Bodies minister Manoranjan Kalia, while confirming the development said he had discussed the matter with the Chief minister and a meeting in this regard would be held. today evening.

The minister said the Finance Secretary and bank officials would attend the meeting. “We are going to ask the banks for a loan of Rs 1,100 crore which will be guaranteed by the government”, he said adding the urban local bodies would not be burdened with loan repayments on this score. Kalia said the money would be transferred to the Punjab Municipal Infrastructure Development Company, which would undertake development work in urban areas.

The party had expressed its displeasure to the Chief Minister a few months back when it learnt that Rs 700 crore had been handed over to the Punjab Infrastructure Development Board to undertake development work in Akali constituencies situated in urban areas ignoring the BJP constituencies. Kalia, when questioned on the issue, said, “Yes, they (SAD) have compensated us”. He went on to say that the BJP was being given fair treatment in the coalition.

Meanwhile, according to the plan worked out by BJP legislators as well as councilors will recommend development work needed to be undertaken in their constituencies. Only work, which can be completed within a span of eight to nine months, will be taken up so that legislators can take credit for the same in the next assembly election due in fourteen months time.

According to the present formula, the corporations of Amritsar, Ludhiana and Jalandhar will get Rs 100 crores each. As many as eight BJP constituencies are located in the territorial limits of these corporations. Besides this, ‘A’ class municipalities will get Rs 10 crore each, B class municipalities Rs 5 crore and C class Rs 3 crore each.