Amid talk of resignation, Kiran Reddy transfers key aides

Jaswinder Singh Baidwan

Akhran da mureed
Staff member
Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy on Monday relieved two of his secretaries of their duties in the Chief Minister's Office as part of a reshuffle of nearly a dozen Indian Administrative Service officers in the state.

K S Jawahar Reddy, an IAS officer of 1990 batch and a key man in the CMO ever since Kiran took over in November 2010, has been shifted to the Irrigation and Command Area Development Department as its secretary (Projects). Jawahar was Special Secretary to the CM.

Another Special Secretary, N Sridhar of 1997 batch, has been named managing director of AP Beverages Corp and Commissioner of Distilleries and Breweries, officials said.

In other changes, Aditya Nath Das (1987 batch) has been moved out of the Irrigation Department after a six-year stint and made principal secretary of Infrastructure and Investment Department.

M T Krishna Babu of 1993 batch, currently secretary, Infrastructure and Investment Department, is expected to be posted as chairman of Visakhapatnam Port Trust (a PSU) on deputation to the Centre.

Another senior officer G Ananta Ramu of 1990 batch has been made secretary of Social Welfare Department in the existing vacancy.

K Ramakrishna Rao (1991) has been made special secretary in the Finance Department. He will continue to hold the post of director general of Centre for Good Governance, according to an order issued by Chief Secretary P K Mohanty.

K Vijayanand (1992), currently managing director of Power Generation Corporation of AP, will be the new commissioner of Transport in place of Ramu. Another Special secretary to the chief minister is expected to be appointed MD of AP Genco soon, official sources said.

M Jagadeeshwar of 1993 batch has been made the commissioner of School Education, replacing G Vani Mohan (1996). Vani Mohan has been made commissioner of Employment and Training in the existing vacancy.