About 50 RS MPs have assets worth over Rs 1250 cr


Prime VIP
Nearly 50 newly-elected members to Rajya Sabha have declared total assets of over Rs 1,250 crore with liquor baron Vijay Mallya topping the chart having properties worth over Rs 615 crore.

According to an analysis, Independent candidate from Karnataka, Mallya, has declared assets worth over Rs 615 crore followed by properties worth nearly Rs 190 crore by Telugu Desam Party's (TDP) Yalamanchili Satyanarayana Chowdary from Andhra Pradesh and Rs 82 crore declared by Kanwar Deep Singh, a Jharkhand Mukti Morhca MP.

Chowdary is a known industrialist from South India, associated with Sujana Group of Companies, while Singh is a Chandigarh-based known business tycoon.

The lowest assets --Rs 2.7 lakh-- was declared by BJP's Anil Dave, who won the Rajya Sabha berth from Madhya Pradesh, followed by Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Ram Kripal Yadav with assets worth about Rs 27 lakh and Biju Janata Dal's (BJD) Shashi Bhushan Behera who has properties of nearly about Rs 30 lakh.

Yadav has won from Bihar and Behera from Orissa respectively.

The analysis was done by Association of Democratic Reforms-National Election watch (ADR-NEW), an umbrella body of about 1,200 NGOs across the country, after carefully analysing affidavits of contestants who fought Rajya Sabha polls in 12 states.

The elections for 55 seats for the Upper House of Parliament in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Orissa, Maharashtra, Punjab, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand and Andhra Pradesh were held in two phases on June 14 and June 17.

The analysis for Tamil Nadu could not be done due to the unavailability of candidates' affidavits.

According to the analysis, a total of 38 winning MPs have movable and immovable properties worth about Rs 1,285 crore.

Noted lawyer Ram Jethmalani who was elected from Rajasthan on a BJP ticket has declared assets worth Rs 29.60 crore, Bahujan Samaj Party's Satish Chandra MIshra (Uttar Pradesh) has declared assets of Rs 24 crore and Congress's Ambika Soni (Punjab) and Oscar Fernandes (Karnataka) have assets of Rs 17.7 crore and about Rs 15 crore respectively.

BJP's Chandan Mitra (Madhya Pradesh) has assets worth Rs 9.41 crore, M Venkaiah Naidu (Karnataka) has properties of about Rs 7.72 crore, Rajiv Pratap Rudy (Bihar) has Rs 4.40 crore and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi (Uttar Pradesh) has declared movable and immovable assets worth Rs 2.61 crore.

Congress MP from Chhattisgarh Mohsina Kidwai has assets worth Rs 2.20 crore, LJP's Ram Vilas Paswan (Bihar) has Rs 1.90 crore, Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut (Maharashtra) has Rs 1.51 crore and Union Environment Minister Jairam Ramesh, who won from Andhra Pradesh, declared assets worth Rs 61 lakh.

"Our aim is to bring transparency and to bar the entry of criminals in politics," said Anil Bairwal, National Coordinator, ADR.