Disability pension exempt from tax

Jaswinder Singh Baidwan

Akhran da mureed
Staff member
2015_9largeimg13_Sep_2015_223153503-1.jpg

SC Vasudeva
Q. I am a disabled military officer retired from the post of Colonel. I am receiving pension from which tax is being deducted at source by the bank. While deducting tax at source, the bank did not consider my disability element. On my request, the bank furnished me the details of my monthly pension which includes basic pension as well as my disability pension.
The CBDT vide F.No. 200/51/99-IT.AI dated 2.7.2001 has clarified that entire disability pension i.e. “disability element” and “service element” of a disabled officer of the Indian Armed Forces continues to be exempt from income tax.
Please clarify the term “service element”, whether my entire pension is exempt from tax, if not, what is my tax liability. I am a senior citizen.
— Col (retd) Raghvendra Singh
A. In accordance with the circular No. F.No. 200/51/99-ITA-I dated May 6, 2000, the entire disability pension admissible to Armed Forces Personnel is exempt from tax. The service element in my opinion would mean the pension attributable to the service period. You can, therefore, approach the tax department for the allowance of the refund of tax at source deducted by the bank while making the payment of your pension. You will thus have to file the return of income for the relevant year for seeking refund of tax deduction at source.
Q. I am maintaining a PPF A/c with Post Office, maturing on 31.03.2016. I intend to extend the period for further five years. My queries are:
1. How much amount can be withdrawn before the period is extended?
2. What is the procedure for availing the option of five years?
3. Can I also withdraw part of the amount during option period? If yes, when and how much?
4. Till date, no withdrawal has been made.
5. What is the tax liability on withdrawal?
— Rajender Kumar