Yuvraj Singh’s moment to savour

[JUGRAJ SINGH]

Prime VIP
Staff member
55367-1.jpg

He danced his way to the podium; he broke into a jig with his teammates and his joy knew no bounds the moment the final ball was bowled and Sunrisers Hyderabad were declared champions of VIVO IPL 2016. Among the many broad smiles and amidst a run of emotions, Yuvraj Singh took center stage in the orange huddle singing the team song loud and clear. There were hugs, a round of applause, those customary jokes to crack, but at the end of it all - a moment to savour and cherish for years to come. Yuvraj Singh has been a part of two World cup victories but an IPL victory had been devoid for long - until tonight. This one was special and Yuvraj had a special corner in his heart for this victory.

“It is an amazing feeling to win an IPL Trophy. I have won the World Cups but never won an IPL trophy. I have been playing this tournament for eight years now but never won it. Tonight that moment has finally come,” said Yuvraj expressing his emotions post the IPL win. “I had never tasted the sweetness of an IPL trophy and this is something really amazing. At the moment this trophy will go right on top in my trophy cabinet. This one will go along with my World Cup victories.”

For a man who has been a fighter in its true sense, his campaign has had its fair share of ups and downs. He had to battle injuries that ruled him out of the first half of the tournament, but Yuvraj fought his way back and became one of the vital cogs of Sunrisers’ victorious IPL campaign. He showed flashes of the past with his blade and those towering sixes continued to enthrall his fans irrespective of the venue. Yuvraj, who was playing for a new franchise, was in awe of the way the team had bonded over the tenure of the IPL.