Media XI score exciting win over DCC XI

Quick Register
User Name:
Human Verification

Go Back   UNP > Chit-Chat > News > Sports News

UNP Register


Old 30-Dec-2011
Media XI score exciting win over DCC XI

A.K.S. Satish, Gopal Jasapara and Duane Fonseca dazzled with the bat for Media Invitation XI as they beat a Dubai Cricket Council (DCC) Invitation XI by 21 runs at the ICC Global Cricket Academy ground.
Skipper K.R. Nayar won the toss and elected to bat first, a decision which proved correct as openers Satish and Ahmad Abbas saw off the opening spells by Adel Farooq and Paresh Amarnani.
They took their time to settle in and then belted the DCC bowlers freely to put on 64 runs for the opening wicket before Ahmad was bowled by Mandeep Pujji. Satish continued with his aggressive batting, slamming four boundaries to show a glimpse of yester-year class before finally retiring after making 31 runs.
Jasapara then piled on the misery for DCC with fluent shots on both sides of the wicket. Fonseca then played a blinder, slamming two boundaries and a huge straight driven six to make a rapid 19 from 11 balls and take his team to an imposing total of 148 runs. Neeraj Ramamoorthy was the only successful bowler with two wickets for 13 runs.
DCC started off with the father and son duo of I.P. and Nalin Khaitan opening the innings and they put on 26 in the first five overs.
Nalin then played attractive cricket to bring the required run rate to par. He top-scored with 30 runs in 22 balls before retiring. Excellent bowling backed up by some spirited fielding by the media tightened the noose on DCC as they lost Adel Farooq, Mohammad Lokhandwala and Salman Hanif in quick succession.
DCC finished on 127 to hand a 21-run victory to the media.
At the post-match presentation, I.P. Khaitan, Mazhar Khan and Lokhandwala presented all the participating players with watches sponsored by DCC and Mohammad Redha Abbas, the Vice-Chairman of DCC, and thanked all the sponsors and media. Nayar thanked DCC and all the sponsors for arranging the game.
The winner's trophy was presented by I.P. Khaitan to Nayar and Adur Pradeep, while Satish and Fonseca were named best players of the day.
Media Invitation XI bt DCC Invitation XI by 21 runs. Media Invitation XI 148 for 5 in 20 overs ( A.K.S. Satish 31n.o, Ahmad Abbas Rizvi 11, Gopal Jasapara 33n.o, Neeil 12, Ramdas Volvoikar 13, K.R. Nayar 8, Duane Fonseca 19 n.o.,Neeraj Ramamoorthy 2 for 14) DCC Invitation XI 127 for 6 in 20 overs (Nalin Khaitan 30n.o, Shoeb Muljiani 11, Neeraj Ramamoorthy 9, Bashir 14n.o, Paresh Amarnani 13, Shiva Pagarani 12 n.o., Duane Fonseca 2 for 13).
Best Players: A.K Satish and Duane Fonseca of Media Invitation XI.

Post New Thread  Reply

« Djokovic sets up Federer clash in Abu Dhabi | Year of regular controversy belies progress on the field »