Hip-hop star Coolio shares his passions

Lily

B.R
Staff member
2648550366.jpg

Two nights ago I made a very late New Year's resolution. A February 1 promise to myself, if you prefer.

It's one I've made before. One I say out loud but know I'll probably never be able to keep because human nature gets the better of me every time.

It is: Never judge a book by its cover.

The unlikely candidate and my new-found resolution-keeping inspiration? The '90s hip-hop star Coolio.

See, I knew he'd be late for the interview, I was prepared for the fact he may cancel at any given minute but I wasn't quite ready for the words: "I'm a gourmet chef, you know."

He did the gentlemanly thing and ignored the blank expression sat across from him.

"Yeah, girl," he said with a huge grin. "I do a cooking show.

" put out my first cookbook in November 2009 and I'm working on the second now. It's fusion food. Cooking With Coolio is also my show. It's a comedy cooking show, it'll make you laugh out loud. But at the same time, it's really informative."

‘Into healthy stuff'

What would he cook for me, I asked.

"Finger-licking, rib-sticking, fall-off-the-bone-and-into-your-mouth chicken. Your ribs are too short to bite your guy," he said.

While I'll admit to not being too brushed up on my gangster speak, I decided this would have confused most. "It's a short rib dish," again, sensitively picking up on my confusion (although the wrinkles in my brow may have done the talking).

"I think my best dishes are meat. Any meat dishes I do are just so succulent and juicy and fall off the bone. I do a lot of things inside the oven. Don't do a lot of fried food. I'm more into healthy stuff. You know, I'm 47 years old," he said, while simultaneously looking down at his arms, as if the muscles alone made him a picture of health.