1984 Sikh Genocide: Remembrance and Reflection

pps309

Prime VIP
If there is a day I remember as vividly as September 11, 2001, it is October 31, 1984. I was a college student, living in a boy’s hostel in New Delhi. We rushed to the TV room when we heard that Indira Gandhi had been shot by two of her security guards and rushed to All India Institute of Medical Sciences. When her death was announced, my friend and I decided to go next day to Trimurthi Bhawan and pay our respects. Not in my wildest dream did I imagine what a turn events would take.
We made nothing of some reports of violence against Sikhs, whether it was a taxi driver being beaten up, a scooter or a car burnt. In the evening I was about to go for a stroll with a friend when the watchman at the gate suggested that I not go outside the campus. In fact, he told my friend, I should stay indoors. For the first time I felt that I was different.

Reports of violence kept coming throughout the next morning, Nov. 1. In the afternoon we heard of the first killing. Students who went outside the campus, came back and told us about mobs everywhere, attacking Sikhs, their homes, businesses and gurudwaras. Those who witnessed these incidents were shell shocked, and the gory details they told were unbelievable. Then we heard that even those who were sheltering Sikhs were being attacked by mobs, and I was really scared.

One of my father’s friends came in his car and offered to take me to their house. But my roommate and others in the hostel said I was safest where I was. I felt lucky to be amongst friends who cared enough to risk their own well being. My father’s friend gave me news of my family and promised to let them know that I was safe too.
For three days I stayed indoors. I kept my hockey stick by my bedside.